Life: An Overthinker’s Guide to embracing life

Life is like a river, it flows on its own, it takes turn, it changes but always finds it’s way to the sea.

Content:
“Don’t take yourself too seriously” This was written by my brother on my room’s door when I was a kid. Whenever I looked at it, I always used to think, “What does this mean?” Now that I live on my own and life has too many complications, I understand it better. We have developed a kind of tendency to complicate life too much. You might be thinking, “Well, I don’t do that.” Good for you, I guess. To all the overthinking warriors out there this one’s for you. Life is not something which can be understood easily and the best way to make you understand is by quoting Nietzsche

If you stare into the abyss, the abyss stares back at you.

What if I told you that life doesn’t have to be so complicated? What if I told you that the key to a happy life is just living in the moment with curiosity and wonder, and embrace the unexpected twists and turns that come your way

A few months ago when I boarded the wrong train. My friends were worried and getting irritated, but I was happy. I saw new things, discovered new places, struck up conversations with people whom I would have never met otherwise. It was a small reminder to me that sometimes it’s okay to let go of control and just let life surprise you.

For me these are the authentic experiences of life, I termed them as life experiences, the things you would generally avoid. Have you ever been to the terrace with an umbrella and climbed to the top to look at the world getting drenched? Of course, the answer would be a big NO unless you’re a weirdo. But I urge you to be a weirdo. As Neil Gaiman said,

Adults follow paths. Children explore.


Sometimes we are like that dog who is chasing a car. We do not know what we will do once the car stops. Life is simple if we just let it be. We think too much and suffer in our own head. Life is like a river, it flows on its own, it takes turns, it changes but always finds its way to the sea. So, we must embrace the change because it is inevitable and let it take us where we need to go. We can either see it as a gift or a burden. It is all in the perspective. Let’s make it a story worth telling, a book worth reading, and a journey worth taking.

In the end, I would like to say: Don’t take yourself too seriously.

Sunil Patnaik
PGDM – Marketing
Batch 2022 – 24